People Annoyed at Others Who Are Dieting

7 Oct

Hi bitches.

No, I didn’t relapse.

No, I wasn’t in treatment.

I was just sick and tired to live under the same roof as my mom as we cannot stand each other. So one day, as the impulsive girl that I am, I decided I had enough and left the house for 3 months. I came back because I couldn’t work enough hours to pay my rent and going to school at the same time.

I’M COMING BACK GANGNAM STYLE.

Today’s topic is people who get annoyed at others who are talking about diets.

Here’s the original post:

There are SO. MANY. GIRLS at my school who skip lunch and say, “Yeah, it’s my only chance not to eat today. When I go to college, I’m just not going to eat again.” Then I see them at the McDonald’s drive-thru after school getting a Big Mac, and I get so frustrated. I ABSOLUTELY HATE wannabe anorexics. If you WANT to have this disease, go right ahead. Be cold all the time, never make plans with with your friends because you’re scared they’ll make you eat, obsess over food, hurt your butt and spine every time you sit, faint all the time, be too weak to lift you backpack…. If you want all that, be my guest.

Sorry everyone, this just REALLY pissed me off.

*Sigh*

Come on, they are just little girls. Don’t fret.

Not as bad as the replies, though:

1. Hypocritical reply

omg yes. I hate it when people talk about how little they’ve ate as if they see it as an acomplishment that they didn’t eat dinner last night.

Says a recovering anorexic.

As if you never felt that is was an accomplishment when you did it!

I can’t help but wonder if part of them are just jealous. Just saying, because I know I used to be.

2. Holier-than-thou reply

There’s going to be so many people like that as you get older.

I just roll my eyes at them and shake my head. There’s no point in trying to explain to them that saying their ” going anorexic ” is just plain stupid. Same thing when people say ” omg i am soooo bipolar. I think I’m bipolar because I like cried for an hour and then like smiled “

Sometimes people are just stupid and don’t understand mental illness’s and don’t pay attention to anything around them. That’s why I can’t stand hanging out with people my age, THEY ARE SO STUPID and don’t pay attention to anything but themselves!

Oh. Because you don’t understand a mental illness, you are stupid and self-centered? What about you, dear recovering anorexic? What if I say that starving yourself is stupid? Do you know that when you are cancelling plans that involve food with your friends or not eating dinner with your ¬†family, you are not paying attention to their feelings, you are just paying attention to yourself? Isn’t that the same than those ”stupid people”?

One thing that I can’t stand is people having suffered or suffering from an ED acting like they know it all about health and nutrition, without any medical or nutrition degree. ¬†

EDs can really transform you into entitled, narcissist little brats.

Off to listen to Gangnam style.

ETA: Oups I forgot to proof read and they were some stuffs that didn’t made sense!

4 Responses to “People Annoyed at Others Who Are Dieting”

  1. Fiona October 8, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    It’s good to see you back. It’s only the internet but I do tend to worry when people just vanish! I’m guilty of the ‘relapse’ theory and I’m so sorry but GLAD you proved me wrong. Gotta get more friends without EDs or any kind of D because I’m too used to people relapsing :(

    I’m with you on this… this is a touchy subject. I’m usually quite anti-wannarexic and then I get a bit embarrassed/ashamed/guilty realising what a freakin hypocrite I am. I’m very very guilty of the “don’t do as I do” hypocritical lecture, thinking that SuperFi can come to the rescue of these precious young deluded souls and sweep them off the path to disaster. I think my ego got in the way of my rational thinking there, since I’m modelling to them exactly what I don’t want them doing – they are probably thinking “WTF, it’s good enough for you…”

    People dieting.. well it makes me scared. And yes, it can make me jealous. I miss the feeling of achievement, the feeling of going down, and most of all, the illusion of ‘everything is going to be okay, all my problems are getting solved because I’m losing weight.’ So yeah, on one hand I want to rescue them, on the other I’m bitterly envious! Oh.. and also I feel threatened. They are going to lose more weight than me! They’ll be thinner than me!! Oh no they don’t…

    When it comes to most people though, who don’t have an ED.. I think we do have to remember that they won’t be thinking about people with EDs and how they might be triggered by their ‘diet’. It’s just going on a diet to them. I actually hate the talk of stuff being ‘triggering’ in an ED sense, because it has come to be more of an excuse for why people want to take up the behaviours again. And I think if anyone with an ED can cry ‘you triggered me’ for their behaviours, they are well capable of seeing the risk and avoiding using those behaviours to compensate for how they feel. Blaming others for our behaviours is a cop out.

    I think we can get quite silly with how we expect everyone to tip toe around us in case they upset/trigger/offend us.

    Although there are some huge exceptions. Like my mum, who knowing I’d been struggling with ED and in and out of hospital, spent 2 hours gloating to me over her weight loss, shilling her latest diet, and trying to convince me to give it a try too. Ugh. People like that make me want to puke.

    • asianbitch October 8, 2012 at 9:49 pm #

      I need to quote this in a future post.

      Sometimes I feel very jealous of the people who have parents that help them in their recovery. It would have been so much easier and quicker, but then I wonder if I would have relapsed because I would lack the self-awareness that I got from getting myself out of the dept of my ED alone.

      • Fiona October 9, 2012 at 6:14 am #

        OH DEFINITELY. That’s another thing I feel – jealous of those who have parents and families who are there and support them, who visit them in hospital, who (try to) catch them when they fall, who scoop them up and ‘rescue’ them when they go too far. Even things like self-reporting how unwell I’ve been or how much I’ve struggled to a professional makes me wish I had family (not mine, GOOD family) around so someone else could tell them “she’s really struggling” or “she’s sick” etc without me going through the whole argument in my mind of “if I ask for help, then that’s attention seeking” and the whole I can’t ask for help because the ed won’t let me bullshit.

        BUT. We who have had to be our own supports, and do it ourselves HAVE had to develop more strength and insight and self awareness. And I think without that, we’d be in a much different place ourselves. Especially in the future when parents get old and die – leaving people who have been parented all their adult lives too, floundering.

        Actually it sort of makes me wince to think of being parented like a little child still in my 30′s, I’ve seen it happening and it’s always seemed very pathetic to me :/

  2. Steph November 5, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    Glad you’re back! I check your blog all the time haha. I’ve never been anorexic but reading your posts gets me all riled up about the stupid things people say.

C'mon, tell me what you think!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

