The Reason Behind Pumpkin Shortage

8 Nov

So easy to figure this out.

Don’t get me wrong, I like pumpkin.

It’s pretty good with some maple syrup (or even Splenda Stevia), chopped apples, raisins and cinnamon, or to add moisture to baked good.

But some HLB take it a BIT too far. I think that’s why there’s this pumpkin shortage in the US and not in Canada…because since all the big HLB are in the US, they buy the grocery’s entire stock, hence this pumpkin-fixation and the natural  ”I need to stock up or else I’m going to starve!” blogger instinct. Doesn’t help that all their readers are also pumpkin-brainwashed, so they also go crazy when they see it on the shelves.

This can apply to any ”typical HLB” staple: chia seeds, coconut flour, protein powders (sweetened with stevia, of course, none of that Splenda chemical poison), Kabocha squash…, but pumpkin seemed to be more fitting (and easier to draw than bags of chia seeds)

Now, tell me, which one of the HBL type food are you guilty of stocking up, for fear that you’ll run out? Mines are:

  1. Kabocha squash
  2. Coconut flour
  3. Pumpkin (although in Canada, we have E.D Smith brand, not Libby)
I know, I’m a freaking hypocrite.
But most people with blogs and who read blogs are anyway.
4 Responses to “The Reason Behind Pumpkin Shortage”

  1. Kristina @ spabettie November 8, 2011 at 3:30 am #

    I was using chia before chia was cool – my naturopath gave it to me!! and now I’m in danger of seeing a doctor that may soon become a fad as well – the ND. sigh.

    I use pumpkin year round, and usually order it by the case with Amazon Prime. I laugh at people freaking about shortage. LAUGH!

    awesome drawing!

    • asianbitch November 8, 2011 at 3:48 am #

      Thanks! Just after I drew it, I regretted not choosing peanut flour.
      Omg.
      I’ve never seen people freaking out like that.
      I couldn’t click on ANY blog without seeing bloggers bragging about how they managed to get all the peanut flour at Trader Joe’s, and how they were safe and how the world is not going to end.

      • Kristina @ spabettie November 8, 2011 at 4:01 am #

        that was completely ridiculous. I like using peanut flour in baking (a little!), but come on.

        also? I think Trader Joes must know about the bloggers, taking precious jewels from shelves, pulling the puppet strings and once again, laughing! LAUGHING! 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Well played, Trader Joe’s. Well played. « Asian B*tch - November 10, 2011

    […] my last post, I talked about stocking up on pumpkin […]

C'mon, tell me what you think!

