Lil Asian Dancing Around + Cornmeal Protein Muffins

21 Dec

It was one hell of a busy and hard exam week.

My butt has turned into a pancake from all the studying sitting .

I can’t believe it is DONE. I swear I was going crazy. After a while, even the dust on my lamp was beginning to be interesting. I think I need some studying tips, because I’m easily distracted. Oh, by the way, I bet you don’t know how many pencils my glasses can hold.

Follow Damn! That’s What She Said! for more!

I know you do this to. Don't lie.

Now, I can finally say those magic words:

First semester in Health Science…

…CHECK!

''Hit Me Baby One More Time'' is okay as a guilty pleasure. ''Gimme More'' isn't. You'll lose my respect.

I’m going to spare you a video of me dancing and singing, but just to give you an idea of how traumatized you might have been if I did, it is worse than this:

—-

Since my brain is fried, this post will end here with a recipe. It uses lots of different kind of flours, which I hate, but I really like the result. So be it.

You can’t taste the pumpkin, it just contributes to the texture. The muffins are fluffy and hearty at the same time. I haven’t tried that, but I guess you can make them savory by using unflavored protein powder (or just more flour), adding salt and seasonings.

Cornmeal Protein Muffins

The little black things are cookie bites from my Cookie n' Cream protein powder (that tastes just like sweet powder anyway)

ETA: Makes 6 muffins

Ingredients

  • 2 extra-large (~80g) egg whites
  • 3/4 (180g) canned pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup (10og) yogurt (flavoured or plain)
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1/4 cup Whey Protein powder
  • 1 tbsp whole wheat flour
  • 2 tbsp coconut flour
  • 1/2 cup (60g) cornmeal
  • 1-2 tbsp sweetener* (You can also use honey or maple syrup, but you might need less water)
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • pinch of salt
Directions
  1. Preheat oven to 375.  Spray a muffin pan with cooking spray or better, use a silicone pan.
  2. Beat the egg white on high speed until foamy. Add the pumpkin, water and yogurt and beat until well mixed.
  3. Mix the dry ingredients together and add it to the wet mixture with a spatula.
  4. Bake for 25min, or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  5. Chill before serving.
8 Responses to “Lil Asian Dancing Around + Cornmeal Protein Muffins”

  1. Sarah December 21, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    Good god, I should’ve known not to watch that video until I’ve consumed enough wine to dull the senses. Congrats on getting through your first semester!!! Your chart is a fairly accurate representation of how I studied in college as well. Except mine would have about an eighth of that pie set aside for making a study playlist. Have to have the good tunes to study to right???

  2. Ameena December 22, 2011 at 12:45 pm #

    Congratulations on being done with your first semester.I promise you that my entire college career flew by!! It’ll be the same for you I’m sure.

    Now if only motherhood would fly by….

  3. jane December 25, 2011 at 11:33 am #

    wow, these look good. but i don’t have cornmeal or whole wheat flour. i have some other flours there i think though, so i’ll just play around maybe.

    i noticed a comment u left on “kabocahfashionista” re binging, etc…im undereweight and lately have been binging BIGTIME at night…i feel awful abou this..the worse thing is that i A) do not exercise to “make up” for it, B) have zero appetitie, C) end up severely constipated — this is NOT fun…and D) end up in a vicious cycle,…oh and E) I have awful severe gas trapped in my ribs…like i literally get severe side stitches on a 24-hour basis in my ribs and hear a sloshing of gas in there…its like i need to belch it all out and it won’t come out…

    so the next mroning is always the toughest…cause i have no hunger for breakfast..but gotta eat something…i don’t exercise…i’m bloated and full of gas and constipated…then i end up forcing in some breakfast that is TOTALLY wrong (and being afraid of grains, etc)

    your comment to Nicky…did u mean that reading blogs triggers the binges OR reading the blogs makes you feel guilty for the binges (and u shouldnt)

    i can’t figure out how to get on track…two bloggers ive noticed that seem to NEVER binge and eat well and NOT care is “Kath Eats” and “PB fingers”….others are all like exercising insanely and eating so little…i’m like 30 years old and underweight (due to stress + severe, severe anxiety) and not exercising…so eating 2500++ on this wrecked, sedentary metbolism feels so wrong

    uggh…sorry to vent…just fed up with it u know…

  4. glidingcalm December 29, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    those look delicious!!! i love how fluffy and tall they are!

  5. J December 31, 2011 at 11:49 am #

    I don’t mean to sound rude, but if you hate ‘healthy living’ blogs so much, why are you posting recipes with egg whites, sweeteners, coconut flour, pumpkin and protein powder? That is a very very very HLB-ish recipe.

    • asianbitch December 31, 2011 at 12:01 pm #

      No, not rude at all! The answer is too long, hope you don’t mind if I just post a link (somebody already asked me a question about the same thing)?
      http://www.formspring.me/asianmeanie/q/273242823682166431

      But in a nutshell, I only post what I have ”created”. I eat plenty of normal food, but they aren’t my recipes so I don’t bother mentioning them. I bake blondies sometimes, but photographing the picture of the blondies made with someone else recipe and mentioning it on the blog is just boring. Everybody can do that, but not everybody can create a recipe. All in all, I don’t do ”here’s what I ate” posts.
      And I know I come across a HLB hater, but I don’t hate them. It really depends on the blogger and the impact the blog has on the readers. Some of them are enabling people with eating disorders, but some of them are actually smart (it’s rare, but they exist)

  6. Lou January 1, 2012 at 12:53 am #

    that video is so so bad. why do people put these things on the internet, WHY!?!

    • asianbitch January 1, 2012 at 2:03 pm #

      Narcissistic personality disorder. They think everything they do is fucking awesome. There’s 157 dislikes on the video. If I had a Youtube account, it would have been 158. I dance nearly as bad as her (or even more), but at least nobody remembers that because everyone is drunk and they blame it on the drinks. And I sure as hell don’t post it over the internet.

C'mon, tell me what you think!

