Journey of a ED Recovery Blogger

6 Jan

1. Start a blog, dedicated to ED recovery.

2. Start reading all the popular, Recovery Gurus, who, most of the time, really are just Half-Assed Recovery Gurus.

3. Start posts with oatmeal and spinach blended in, egg whites, cottage cheese, stevia and ”melted nanner” trick a la CCK.

Random, I know. But I had to put a banana joke here.

4. Talk about your struggles

My mom told me I looked healthier…but I’m so upset! I feel sooooo fat!!

My mom said that I had a big lunch but it was just salad! It barely had any calories, she’s sooooo clueless and rude!!! Now I don’t want to eat dinner…

I ate a muffin for breakfast and feel soooo guilty…I did JM’s BFBM video, P90X Plyometrics and ran 3miles, but I still feel so uncomfortable!!!

5. Comment on every recovery blogs

OMFG That oatmeal look so yummy!!!!

Nom Nom Nom, that sounds soooooo good! I love chocolate and PB together, especially on oatmeal!

Yum! I need to try that oatmeal combo!

Awww, so sorry you had a bad day…keep going, stay strong, I love you!! xoxo

Awww, I know how you feel…I can so relate!

6. Talk about how everyone is beautiful, no matter what the numbers say…

LOVE YA BODYYYYY, it doesn’t matter how much you weigh!!! xoxo

7. …Proceed to talk about how uncomfortable you feel about your weight

8. Reach a healthy weight, think you are recovered and attempt to become a HLB (because you want a label)

Now, for some people, the adventure finishes here, because they are forever in denial: they blog about Clean Eating, Lifting weights, Running, etc., like they are professionals, knowing that 90% of their readers are struggling with an ED but  they don’t give a damn about whether or not they are fueling their orthorexia and exercise addiction. Or maybe they do give a damn, but they like their HLB title and like that their readers are worshiping them like as if they have discovered the cure to cancer, when all they did was to create a Voluminous Oatmeal Trick recipe.

I can’t believe all the ridiculous cults.

9. Realize that you are still fucked up and that some HLBs are fucked up too

10. Take a blogging break

Some people never go back to blogging because they are living their lives and mostly recovered (I say ”mostly” because I don’t believe in Full Recovery), which is the perfect scenario. But if you are still fucked up but wiser than before, you will continue on step 11.

11. 2 scenarios:

a) Go back to blogging, act like recovery was super easy and become an ”Inspiration”

Again, a cult is devoted to those bloggers. All their posts is now about:

  • loving your body
  • how they didn’t pick the lowest calorie item at the Cheesecake Factory (OMFG, WHAT AN INSPIRATION!!)
  • how AppleBee’s is so fucking yummy, and they ate a main meal WITH a dessert (OMFG, WHAT AN INSPIRATION!!)
  • how everyone who is picking a salad at a restaurant is eating-disordered and should be put in IP
  • how they don’t exercise but still have a rockin’ body

b) Go back to blogging, become a cynical bitch with a scary, well-developed HLB/ED Radar, with 0 compassion for bloggers who are getting their ass kissed by crazy fans.

Any ideas on what step 12 could be?

Moral of the story: think twice before starting a recovery blog.

13 Responses to “Journey of a ED Recovery Blogger”

  1. Rosalie January 6, 2012 at 10:33 pm #

    Step 12: Be loved by the (unfortunately) few people who’ve themselves made it to 11 b/don’t have a blog but still have the 11 b mindset. It’s far better to just fucking admit that you’re still struggling than to pretend that you’re one of those ~~super inspiring “recovered” people (who always post the most hypocritical and disordered things, but are so in denial that it’s painful.)

    • asianbitch January 7, 2012 at 12:03 am #

      Team 11 b) Rule!!!!

      Unfortunately, we are in the minority. That ED Recoverer Ass-kissing epidemic has spread over the blogging community in a matter of seconds.

  2. serendipitousmornings January 6, 2012 at 11:01 pm #

    you never fail to make me laugh. as much as you are..what’s the word…a tad rude, you are most definitely honest! which is awesome 😛

  3. Heather January 6, 2012 at 11:28 pm #

    I’m at 11b without having recovered… to be fair, I was a cynical bitch way before HLBs ever existed. 🙂

    • asianbitch January 7, 2012 at 12:00 am #

      Oh yeah, me too. I should have made that clear on the post, but I thought it was pretty obvious thing.

      I kinda wish I was always a cynical bitch. Some cheesy cutesy stuffs I wrote as a Recovery blogger make me want to barf.

  4. Rachel January 7, 2012 at 12:47 am #

    Haha, sweetheart! As usual you pull no punches:)

  5. Eden January 8, 2012 at 1:21 am #

    Ugh….you know how I feel about all that recovery blog nonsense. The “LUV UR BODY!!!” bit kills me. Its OK to just be content with your body. Love something like your friends or your pet. your body is just a life suit.

    • asianbitch January 8, 2012 at 2:26 am #

      Bahaha!
      I am currently loving GOMI. Lots of juvenile shit going on here tonight. The kind where the blogger brings her minions to defend her. Usually annoying, but the replies are priceless.

  6. Mitri January 8, 2012 at 6:42 pm #

    Although I agree that this is the “journey” of many ED-related bloggers and that it is unfortunate in several ways, I must say I feel empathetic toward some… I remember at the time I was most into “healthy living blogging,” I really didn’t see anything wrong in what i was thinking or doing. Maybe I had an intuitive sense of “wrong” in the back of my mind, but it was clouded by what I felt was rational and fine, even superior to normal. So I can understand how some of the people who write ED/health blogs or comment on them are relatively unaware of how they are presenting themselves or how they are still thinking in a disordered fashion.

    But hopefully your post will increase awareness in such persons, as our awareness increased over time, exposure, and effort.

    • asianbitch January 8, 2012 at 7:17 pm #

      Yeah, I think that’s kinda why I chose this style of blogging. I’m just tired of everyone being blind.
      Unfortunately, I feel like awareness only comes after you have made the mistake. When i was a Recovery Blogger, if I have seen a similar post, I would have laugh my ass off and continued.

  7. Steph February 12, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    You’re hilarious! I would love to know that CCK isn’t naturally skinny but unfortunately that probably isn’t true 😦 It does confuse me, though, that she has tricks to amp up the volume of oatmeal. If she doesn’t mind gaining weight, then why not just eat regular oatmeal?

    • asianbitch February 12, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

      Personally, I could care less if she engages in ED behaviors or not, and what she eats or doesn’t eat. What bothers me is that she KNOWS a good majority of her readers are eating disordered and some of them look up to her for thinspiration. A girl even begged her posting her daily eats so that it would ”help her stop her binging and purging”. As if looking at somebody else’s meal plan will help you with your bulimia…wtf? She doesn’t take responsabilities and seems to just care about page views (her linking is annoying, and it takes you 50 clicks before finding the recipe you want, if you find it at all)

C'mon, tell me what you think!

